R&B is Back

It is a bit dated, now, but I only recently read about Gabriel Roth and his Daptone Records out of Brooklyn. For those paying more attention, I am sure that Daptone is not news to you (they received recent acclaim for work on Amy Winehouse’s album). But with work and two little kids, I am sometimes late to the scene these days. So, in case you have not heard already and you are really into that old soul sound, then you have to check out  Daptone. The NYTimes ran a piece in the Sunday magazine in December that you can find here. What really caught my attention was the story about how, in college, Roth and a buddy would listen to hours and hours of James Brown’s “Hot Pants”. This is really one of the best records out there, and though I am certainly no expert, you don’t have to be to listen to Hot Pants and be blown away. Go here to check out a free Daptone sampler on Amazon, including the nice tune “100 Days, 100 Nights” by Sharon Jones and The Dap-Kings and stuff by this dude Sugarman 3. This is some really funky shit!

About Chris

I am a husband, father, son and brother. I worked for a long time in investment banking / advisory and looking forward to now building from the inside. What is my purpose?....don't think that I have figured that out, it is tricky. I have lots of good intentions, some of which blossom into good deeds and some of which could use a catalyst. But I am trying to figure it out, and I hope to eventually.
This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

